Walking the High Line

A couple of my friends happened to be in NYC at the same time I was visiting. They told me they were heading to the High Line and we arranged to meet up. I have been to New York several times, but my last visit was so long ago that I had never even heard of the High Line. I guess this falls perfectly in line with one of the top things I love about this place, something new is always around the corner!
20140921-120511.jpg

When I arrived I was really wowed. It’s like a little oasis in the city. The pathways are lined with a variety of trees and flowers. Different shapes, sizes of plants and shades of green, surround you. It takes you to a different place while you’re there. It really slows you down as you take time to appreciate it all.
20140921-120710.jpg
20140921-120903.jpg
20140921-121037.jpg

As you walk along you can see the city all around you. The contrast of the hustle and bustle of the city whizzing by, gives you the opportunity to see how intense things are when you’re down there in the thick of it. I think it is a brilliant, dramatic way to remind ourselves of how hectic things are day to day and how important it is so slow down the pace sometimes.
20140921-121217.jpg
20140921-121350.jpg
20140921-121525.jpg

I recently saw some pictures online depicting just how crowded and busy it can get in this green park in the sky. It was hectic! I suppose when it’s like that, there really isn’t an opportunity to relax and take it all in. Luckily, when I visited it was not like that. In fact, I wouldn’t have bothered if that was the case. Massive crowds squashed together, churning their way through a restricted space doesn’t bring with it peace and relaxation. So, be conscious of the time of year and peak times of day, when you decide to (re)visit the High Line.

20140921-121809.jpg

Leave a Reply

