The Golden Gate Bridge

The first time I set eyes on the Golden Gate Bridge, I was with some friends driving to San Francisco from Sacramento. It was a truly beautiful Sunday afternoon and we’d had an enjoyable ride down. As we approached the bridge, I was in awe of it. We drove across it, heading to my next stop in California and I really couldn’t believe it as it was happening.
20140822-170319.jpg
For years I had seen this iconic bridge on TV shows and in movies and now I was just causally driving across it. It was unreal. I looked back over my shoulder, peering at it in wonder, as we drove on into San Francisco.

20140822-170219.jpg
A few days later my friend and his housemate drove me to the bridge so I could really see it. This is redundant, but I’ll say it anyway- it is MASSIVE! This modern wonder actually lived up to and surpassed my expectations. Luckily for me, it was a clear, gorgeous day at the bay, so I was able to see some fantastic views and get some great shots.
20140822-170442.jpg
20140822-170608.jpg
After taking in the view from where we had parked, we took at stroll onto the bridge. I didn’t really feel like I was that high up until we stopped to peek over the railing. My goodness, the drop was immense. When you look up to get the full height of it, your head has to tilt right back to see it all. For me it was definitely a wonder.
20140822-172239.jpg
20140822-170918.jpg
20140822-172433.jpg
When the picture taking reached it saturation and the evening chill descended upon us, we made our way back to the car. I was most pleased with our little outing. If you ever get a chance to visit the fabulous city of San Francisco, make sure to dedicate some time to seeing the Golden Gate Bridge. Go for a walk across it or you can rent bikes and ride across. From my experience I think you definitely won’t regret it!

20140822-172623.jpg

Leave a Reply

