Why I don’t mind when it rains in South Korea

It is no secret that the weather in London leaves a lot to be desired. It’s always raining and when it’s not raining, it’s gloomy. Then you have 33.33% left for any other types of weather that exist. I do not miss it at all. Not one bit.

Rainy day at beautiful Regent's Park
Rainy day at beautiful Regent’s Park

In Korea however, when it rains, I don’t mind. I don’t mind for a few reasons. Firstly, apart from summer time when it usually does rain and it is expected, when it rains, it rains and then it stops. The end. Even if it’s for a long time. There is seldom that inbetweeny rain, where you kind of need an umbrella, but you don’t.

Secondly, when it rains here it reminds me of London. This is a good thing. It may seem weird given my introduction, but when you’ve packed your bags and moved thousands of miles away from home, weird things do happen. I guess this is one of them. It reminds me of my family and my friends. Of pubs and of Tower Bridge. Of Nando’s.

London is lovely at night. Tower Bridge is one of my favorite sights.
London is lovely at night. Tower Bridge is one of my favorite sights.

The third and most important reason, the reason I’ve even written any of this is that there may be a chance, even if small, that my coworker, Cleo, will make pajeon. This is no small issue to me. Pajeon (파전). It is a Korean dish, that I can best describe as a savoury pancake. It has lots of tender, young spring onions in it. You can get kimchi pajeon (김치파전), garlic chive pajeon (부추파전) or seafood pajeon (해물파전). She has told me on a few occasions, that when it rains, it is tradition to eat pajeon and drink makgeolli (Korean rice wine). Cleo and another Korean friend have previously made pajeon on rainy days for us earlier this year.

Fresh chilies going into the kimchi pajeon
Fresh chilies going into the kimchi pajeon

Today, when I left home, I didn’t know I would be feasting on kimchi pajeon. And she also added meat to it. The best part is, it didn’t even rain, it snowed. Oh lovely snow, thank you! She said she made it because of the weather. I had mine hot and crispy, straight out of the pan. It was beautiful. The aroma is still clinging to everything in the teachers’ room. That’s no bother to me. Because of this and because of her, I really don’t mind when it rains in South Korea.

In the making & smelling great!
In the making & smelling great!
helping out
helping out
Ready to go in my belly!!!
Ready to go in my belly!!!
Leave a Reply

