Gunsan Goodbyes

The time to say goodbye in this expat life comes more frequently than one would like. I have made some great friends here. People I can predict will be friends for life. Being so far from home, away from your family and those dear can be rough. For me, most of my close friends here I pretty much view as my family.

My mum's visit. She, Lawrence and I in Jeonju. First time for all of us.
My mum’s visit. She, Lawrence and I in Jeonju. First time for all of us.
Will trying out some tuho (투호) at Hanok Mall. Traditional Korean Village in Jeonju.
Will trying out some tuho (투호) at Hanok Mall. Traditional Korean Village in Jeonju.

I’ve had to say lots of goodbyes during my two year period in Korea and it’s safe to say that it doesn’t really get easier. At least not for me. I always feel the loss for longer than I’d predict, even with a buffer. Then there are places, activities, songs, foods that take your mind straight back to them.

Friends at the beach. Dana, Katie, Peter & Estie chatting on the shores of Sunyudo Island.
Friends at the beach. Dana, Katie, Peter & Estie chatting on the shores of Sunyudo Island.
Josh & I on the ferry back to mainland Gunsan, after our birthday/goodbye weekend for him on Sunyudo Island.
Josh & I on the ferry back to mainland Gunsan, after our birthday/goodbye weekend for him on Sunyudo Island.

I’ve learned that keeping busy definitely helps, whether it be work, social life or distracting yourself in some other way. At the end of the day, I’m grateful for all the relationships and bonds that I’ve formed. They have all added immensely to my journey through this chapter in my life. Even though it really, truly sucks to say good bye, we’ll always have Gunsan 🙂

Phil taking a break after our night out. This year for NYE, I went to Italy and met his wife & kids!
Phil taking a break after our night out. This year for NYE, I went to Italy and met his wife & kids!
Group effort at Korea Burn 2012. Photography by Dana Felthauser.
Group effort at Korea Burn 2012. Photography by Dana Felthauser.
Estie, Cayley & Dana strike a muddy pose at Mudfest 2013 in Boryeong.
Estie, Cayley & Dana strike a muddy pose at Mudfest 2013 in Boryeong.

I’m dedicating this blog post to all my friends who have left and especially two friends in particular, simply because I knew what the double impact of their leaving would do. They definitely shone as bright lights in our little community and I knew when they were leaving I’d miss them tons and really feel the difference of not having them around. Estie and Peter! Two adventurous souls who came to Gunsan together and really left a stamp on those who met them.

Peter & Estie <3
Peter & Estie ❤

I shall hopefully be spending some time with them in their homeland of South Africa next year. I'm very much looking forward to that. Below are some pictures from a little goodbye breakfast we had for them.

s

e

a

r

c

~Enjoy your now and savour your memories of great times with great people~

i

Catching sunrise at the Marine Park to end our night out~~~^^
Catching sunrise at the Marine Park to end our night out~~~^^
My Super Saturday partner. We always had a blast every Saturday.
My Super Saturday partner. We always had a blast every Saturday.
Will and Mario preparing some food for our first BBQ of the year. Will's coming to Trinidad for Carnival next year :D
Will and Mario preparing some food for our first BBQ of the year. Will’s coming to Trinidad for Carnival next year 😀
Josh & Mario relaxing with some shisha at our BBQ in the park.
Josh & Mario relaxing with some shisha at our BBQ in the park.

You can see more of Dana’s photography here: Korea 365 http://danafelthauser.blogspot.kr/2013/08/korea-365-365-goodbye-korea.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

