Sunflower Festival Fail

A couple weekends ago my friends and I ventured down to Gochang to check out the sunflower festival there. We got a bus from Gunsan to Gochang and then one of our mates met us at the bus station and we drove the rest of the way.

The countryside in Gochang is absolutely beautiful. There was green all around and the mountains stood wonderfully majestic and the green crops looked like an emerald carpet. As we neared our destination I noted a few little patches sunflowers along the way. Very wilted sunflowers, hanging on for dear life.

Gochang countryside
Gochang countryside

As we pulled up to the sunflower field, there was an obvious lack of sunflowers. The were dead! We got out of the car and meandered through the field in the blazing heat. I thought sun was supposed to be their thing, they are sunflowers. There were a few survivors. They were easy to spot… Haaa *straight face*

Sunflower field
Sunflower field
Dead
Dead

image (2)

image

After a some photos with the survivors, we found refuge across the street in a building that was part of the “festival”.

image (4)

image (3)

Yay, some live ones!
Yay, some live ones!

The day wasn’t a complete waste (as if!). After that we drove down to a river. We relaxed on the shady banks for a couple hours and cooled off a little in the water.

image (11)

Cooling off
Cooling off
A small dip
A small dip
Relaxing in the shade
Relaxing in the shade

image (6)

image (5)

Obviously, I was greatly disappointed by the failure of this quest. I had such wonderful visions of prancing around a huge field of sunflowers. But frankly, I found the whole thing rather hilarious. I’m just grateful we didn’t journey for hours across Korea only to be met with that.

How it should have looked: My friend, Amber in Gangwon-do Province. I guess it was cooler up there.
How it should have looked: My friend, Amber in Gangwon-do Province. I guess it was cooler up there.
Leave a Reply

