Yeosu City (여수시)

For my summer vacation (2 days off of work) I ventured down to the southern coast to the city of Yeosu. I didn’t do much research for this trip. I had just heard about the Yeosu Expo last year and then I read about Yeosu as an off the beaten track place to visit on someone’s blog.

When I arrived at the Yeosu Expo Station, I strolled around the expo area for a bit. There’s an aquarium, kayaking and a few cafes around. Then I went to find a motel. I found one that was pretty close and surprisingly cheap given the location ($30 for the night, I think it would have been $40 for the same room for a couple). I dropped my stuff off and went out to explore.

Yeosu Expo Station
Yeosu Expo Station
The Big O
The Big O
Hanhwa Aqua Planet
Hanhwa Aqua Planet

Odong Island was walking distance. The bulwark from the mainland to the island was quite long which was fine for me, but in the heat it felt like a test of endurance. On the island I saw Dragon’s Cave, the lighthouse, a musical fountain and a ground fountain which I took full advantage of in the ridiculous heat and humidity.

Dragon's Cave, Odong Island
Dragon’s Cave, Odong Island
Enjoying the sound of the waves crashing into the rocks and taking in the beautiful view from Odong Island
Enjoying the sound of the waves crashing into the rocks and taking in the beautiful view from Odong Island
Ground fountain- a welcomed cool down zone
Ground fountain- a welcomed cool down zone

Later in the evening, I went back to the expo area to see The Big O light show. The queue was massive and I couldn’t be bothered to join it. Instead, I took a seat under one of the marquee structures and watched the show from there. It was fantastic and that was with an obstructed view. I’d definitely go back to see it seated inside the pavilion area.

The next morning, I headed back to the Yeosu Expo Station to get a ticket for the Yeosu City Tour bus. It cost a mere $5 for this all day tour! There was a guide speaking in Korean and on course 1 we stopped at 6 sights. For two of the stops we had to pay to enter (about $3 each).

Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Turtles at the Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Turtles at the Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Rocky beach behind the Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Rocky beach behind the Maritime & Fisheries Science Museum
Gorgeous view from Hyangiram
Gorgeous view from Hyangiram
Lanterns at Hyangiram
Lanterns at Hyangiram
Statue of Admiral Yi Sun-shin and his Turtle Boat
Statue of Admiral Yi Sun-shin and his Turtle Boat

The scenery while driving through Yeosu and around the islands was gorgeous. I think this trip is worth it if you’re looking for a quiet and fairly cheap little getaway.

5 thoughts on “Yeosu City (여수시)

      1. You’re welcome. I’m not in Korea now but was a couple years ago. If you like flowers, I’d recommend Herb Island in Pocheon. They have some beautiful plants and flowers, as well as a great shop with some of the most wonderful teas I’ve had. I bought lavender tea there and haven’t seen any anywhere else. Plus, it has an area with these oh so awesome massage chairs. It also also has sort of a mini zoo. Other places that were kind of cool were Ghangwa Island, Nami Island and the DMZ.

Leave a Reply

