New buy, new try: Green Tomatoes

Continuing my quest to try something new with every food shop I do. I guess to many, this isn’t something exotic, but it was exciting and interesting for me 🙂

 

The glorious green tomato
The glorious green tomato

 

Green tomatoes are great! I’d definitely buy them again. I ate some raw to see how they taste compared to their more popular ruby siblings. The colour inside was a lovely surprise, I didn’t expect it to be pinky/red. That looked cool against the green. The texture was similar, though I’d say these were a bit more crisp with a lil crunch. The taste was a little tart, which married nicely with the savoury seasoning of the steak that I made with it.

 

Steak and eggs with some sauteed mushrooms and GREEN TOMATOES :)
Steak and eggs with some sauteed mushrooms and GREEN TOMATOES 🙂

 

I think I’d love to make a salsa with it using a mixture of green tomatoes and regular ripe tomatoes. My taste buds agree that this is a good idea. I’m glad I tried them. Green tomatoes >> thumbs up from me.

Recipe ideas/suggestions welcome.

2 thoughts on “New buy, new try: Green Tomatoes

  1. I didnt expect it to be red,either.
    I thought it will be green and hard.
    Did you buy them in mart?
    Anyway your food looks so nice^^

Leave a Reply

