New buy, new try: Radish Sprouts

I’ve been in Korea for over a year now and I absolutely LOVE their food. I’ve tried many, many new dishes and there are loads more still to tango with my taste buds. However, I’ve realised that my cooking at home could do with a little spicing up (no pun!).

One of my first Korean meals, gamjatang (감자탕)- spicy pork soup with veggies & peppers. Yum :)
One of my first Korean meals, gamjatang (감자탕)- spicy pork soup with veggies & peppers. Yum 🙂

I really enjoy cooking, but I have realised that although I’m open to trying new things, what ends up in my fridge and cupboards are usually the same(ish) things. Whenever I’m meandering through the aisles of the supermarket, I always see an abundance of interesting looking things, most of which I have no clue about. With these at my disposal, coupled with all the MasterChef I’ve been watching recently, on my last visit to the supermarket I decided that whenever I do my shopping I should purchase something new to me.

Tah-dah! I got these babies! Nothing crazy, but I’m still not sure what I do with them.

Radish sprouts... aren't they cute! :)
Radish sprouts… aren’t they cute! :3

I’ve had them for almost a week, because I’ve been busy and I haven’t done much cooking. Anyway, I thought I better do something soon before they end up in the bin. So, I let them snuggle up next to some juicy salmon… wouldn’t you be happy if that was you?!

Pan seared salmon, sweet & sour battered courgette, sauteed cherry tomatoes and RADISH SPROUTS! *yey*
Pan seared salmon, sweet & sour battered courgette, sauteed cherry tomatoes and RADISH SPROUTS! *yey*

Admittedly, it was not a revolutionary use of these lovely baby trees, BUT it did add a little something to the meal AND I did achieve what I wanted to do- try something new. I’m not sure what to do with the rest of them. I’ll probably throw them in a salad or on top of a soup….? :/

Do you have any ideas about what to do with them? Have you tried anything new recently and should I try it too??? I’m open to suggestions!

I had the sprouts a while ago with raw fish and seaweed

I had the sprouts a while ago with raw fish and seaweed
Leave a Reply

